Today's Article - NCAA Men's Basketball Championship

This article is for quizzes on Monday October 19th...

The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Men's Division I Basketball Tournament is a single-elimination tournament played each spring in the United States, currently featuring 68 college basketball teams, to determine the national championship of the major college basketball teams. The tournament, organized by the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA), was created during 1939 by the National Association of Basketball Coaches, and was the idea of Ohio State University coach Harold Olsen. Played mostly during March, it is known informally as March Madness or the Big Dance, and has become one of the most famous annual sporting events in the United States. The NCAA has credited Bob Walsh of the Seattle Organizing Committee for starting the March Madness celebration during 1984.
Since 2011, all games are available for viewing nationwide and internationally, such as in the Philippines and Canada. As television coverage has grown, so too has the tournament's popularity. Currently, millions of Americans fill out a bracket, attempting to correctly predict the outcome of all 67 games of the tournament.

With 11 national titles, UCLA has the record for the most NCAA Men's Division I Basketball Championships; John Wooden coached UCLA to 10 of its 11 titles. The University of Kentucky is 2nd, with 8 national titles, while the University of North Carolina, Duke University, and Indiana University are tied for 3rd with 5 national titles. The University of Connecticut is 6th with 4 national titles. After that the University of Kansas and University of Louisville are tied with 3 championships. Since 2000, Duke and Connecticut have each won three championships; Florida and North Carolina have won two championships; and Maryland, Syracuse, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan State and Louisville have all won one championship.


Facebook Feed